top of page

Why I Can't Rescue Every Dog

Hi Friends!

Reflecting on why I can't help out every dog that needs rescue and I realize...it's because I personally take on the responsibility of ensuring a better life for them. Emotionally, that's why I can only foster a dog every so often. I know, I'm crazy. Even when I was a teacher, I really felt responsible for the kids in my classroom. The same goes for the dogs I help. If I rescue them, I want to see it through. I want to make sure they get the best second chance at life as possible.

I've heard some friends tell me they would be so sad if they volunteered at the shelter, but what I remind them is it's just about that ONE dog (even if it's once a year) that makes a difference. And this is when we understand that it really takes a village.

Volunteering at Austin Pet's Alive has allowed me appreciate the army of brave hearts that dedicate their time helping those pups and kitties. I had the opportunity to work with a volunteer, Megan, who is about to finish her Ph.D. from UT. Before she graduates, she wants to make videos of some of her long stay faves. We had such a fun day...

Check out our day with Alden...He is available for adoption at Austin Pets Alive. Consider a long stay dog if you want to give a dog a second chance at life. They somehow make us a better person because we learn so much about ourselves in those efforts giving them the life they deserve.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page